Shakopee Teen Named Semifinalist for Ms. Hockey Award

Amy Menke, a Shakopee High School forward, was named one of Minnesota's 10 semifinalists for the Ms. Hockey Award. She will start school at University of North Dakota next fall.

Editor's note: The following is a press release from Let's Play Hockey.

Let’s Play Hockey newspaper announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2013 Ms. Hockey Award, which will be presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota.

In alphabetical order, here are this year’s 10 semifinalists:

Laura Bowman           

Dani Cameranesi        

Kate Flug                    

Kayla Gardner                           

Paige Haley                

Lisa Marvin                 

Amy Menke                 

Sidney Morin                             

Kate Schipper      

Megan Wolfe  

All 10 players named as semifinalists are committed to a Division I school for next season, including nine in the WCHA. The semifinalists have scored an average of 25 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All 10 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.57.

The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 14 edition of Let’s Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 24, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced today. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 7 edition of Let’s Play Hockey. Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor.

In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability. Past winners: 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girls’ high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Association’s Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2012-13 season.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »